Every South African a Swimmer

Veteran Le Clos joins teenage brigade in SA team for Swimming World Championships

Veteran Le Clos joins teenage brigade in SA team for Swimming World Championships
Monday, 9 May 2022 - Chad le Clos has been included in the team to represent South Africa at the FINA World Championships for an incredible seventh time.

Swimming South Africa announced the team that will compete at the event in Budapest, Hungary from 18 June to 3 July 2022 with Le Clos leading the charge along with several young guns who will be competing at their first world championships.

Among them is teenage sensation Lara van Niekerk, who beat Olympic 100m breaststroke silver medallist Tatjana Schoenmaker to the national title in that event in April, swimming to the fourth fastest time in the world this year. She’ll be competing in both the 50 and 100m breaststroke.

“Of course I am so happy to make the team to compete in Budapest, especially since this will be my first World Championships and I have always dreamt about racing the best in the world,” said Van Niekerk. “The past few months have given me a lot of confidence going into races, but I don't want to get ahead of myself. At Worlds I just want to focus on executing my race plan as best I can, and enjoying the whole experience," added the 18-year-old from Pretoria.

Fellow teenagers Matthew Sates (18) and Pieter Coetzé (17), who were part of the SA team at the Tokyo Olympics last year, will also compete in Budapest. Sates broke several junior world records on his way to winning the overall short course (25m) World Cup title in 2021 and he’ll be eager to announce himself on the long course stage (50m) while Coetzé currently boasts the third fastest time in the world this year in the 200m backstroke.

Speaking about his inclusion in the team, Le Clos said: “I think it’s a big honour because no-one has ever done seven from South Africa that I can remember in recent years so I’m just super-happy to be going to another World Championships of course.” The 30-year-old, who first competed at the event when he was a teenager himself, is likely to compete in the 50, 100 and 200m butterfly.

“I’m really excited – we have a very young team. This is a golden time for South African swimming,” he added referring to the likes of Van Niekerk, Sates and Coetzé. “It’s phenomenal to see and I really hope that this year they can get in some finals, get on a couple of podiums and win some medals.

“Obviously the Commonwealth Games is also down the line so we’re also very excited about that – two majors this year.”

Several swimmers who have qualified for the World Championships and have been included on the team list have chosen instead to focus only on the Commonwealth Games, which are taking place just a few weeks after the Budapest event.

Meanwhile, also announced by Swimming South Africa were the teams to represent the country in open water swimming, diving, artistic swimming and water polo.

The swimming programme in Hungary will take place from 18-25 June with the diving being contested from 26 June-3 July. Open water swimming will take place from 26-30 June. Artistic swimming will be contested from 17-25 June with the men’s and women’s water polo tournaments being played from 20 June-3 July.



Aimee Canny (200m freestyle), Emma Chelius (50, 100m freestyle), Pieter Coetzé (50, 100, 200m backstroke), Dune Coetzee (200 butterfly, 200, 400m freestyle), Kaylene Corbett (200m breaststroke), Brendan Crawford (100m breaststroke), Erin Gallagher (100 freestyle), Michael Houlie (50m breaststroke), Stephanie Houtman (1500m freestyle), Clayton Jimmie (50m freestyle), Chad le Clos (50, 100, 200 butterfly), Rebecca Meder (100m back, 200 & 400 IM), Olivia Nel (50m backstroke), Michaela Pulford (800m freestyle), Matthew Randle (200m breaststroke), Matthew Sates (100, 200, 400 freestyle, 200 IM), Tatjana Schoenmaker (50, 100, 200m breaststroke), Lara van Niekerk (50, 100m breaststroke), Inge Weidemann (50m butterfly)

Open Water Swimming:

Ruan Breytenbach (5km, 10km), Connor Buck (5km, 10km), Amica de Jager (5km, 10km), Catherine van Rensburg (5km, 10km)


Grace Brammer (Synchro 3m), Cydney Liebenberg (1m), Kerry-Leigh Morrison (Synchro 3m), Julia Vincent (1m, 3m)

Artistic Swimming:

Kaitlyn Doms, Chloe Dundas-Starr, Kathleen Jarvis, Jessica McCarthy, Skye McDonald, Siphokazi Myende, Laura Strugnell, Ayrton Sweeney, Rachel Taylor, Roxanne Thornton, Tayla-Jade Van Huyssteen, Xera Vegter-Maharajh, Casey Williams

Water Polo – Men:

Ignardus Badenhorst, Dylan Cronje, Todd Howard, Cameron Laurenson, Lwazi Madi, Farouk Mayman, Lonwabo Mfikili, Roarke Olver, Chad Roman, Ross Stone, Jonathan Swanepoel, Dane Tucker, Niall Wheeler

Water Polo – Women:

Iman Akomolafe, Shakira January, Megan Maartens, Tumaini Macdonell, Nicola Macloed, Chloe Meecham, Hannah Muller, Daniela Passoni, Paige Tancrel, Annie Thornton-Dibb, Ashleigh Vaughn, Ruby Versveld, Esihle Zondo


For further information please contact:

Swimming South Africa’s Marketing Coordinator

Mmathapelo Phale

011 404 2480 / 074 363 0001

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.

Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn to Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.