Every South African a Swimmer

The quest for Olympic and Paralympic Qualifying times continued on the fourth day of the 2016 SA National Aquatic Championships

The quest for Olympic and Paralympic Qualifying times continued on the fourth day of the 2016 SA National Aquatic Championships
Durban, Wednesday, 13th April 2016 - Mzansi’s swimmers were once again unstoppable as they continued on their quest for Olympic and Paralympic Qualifying Times on the fourth day of the SA National Aquatic Championships at the Kings Park Aquatics Centre in Durban.

Olympian Chad le Clos took the honors in the final of the 200m butterfly, while confirming his Olympic Qualification time with a quick 1:55.04, followed by Sebastien Rousseau in 1:57.38 and Dylan Bosch in 1:58.18.

There was plenty of action in the 200m breaststroke as Cameron van der Burgh clocked yet another Olympic Qualification time today when he swam a time of 2:11.10, while Jarred Crous and Ayrton Sweeney ended second and third in 2:12.47 and 2:13.38 respectively. The final of the race will take place tomorrow.

The semi-finals of the 100m freestyle saw Douglas Erasmus top the group in 49.85, followed by Caydon Muller in 49.90. Erasmus and Muller will be striving for a faster time in tomorrow’s final to clock the 48.99 requirement for the Rio Olympic Games.

In the 200m butterfly semi-finals, it was Rene Warnes who touched the wall first in 2:13.85, while Marlie Jacob and Taryn Els finished a close second and third in 2:22.13 and 2:23.18, respectively. The final of the event will be held tomorrow. 

Karin Prinsloo won the 200m freestyle final in 1:59.86, over four seconds ahead of Kristin Bellingan in 2:04.13 and Caitlin Kat in 2:04.40, while the 200m individual medley gold went to Marlies Ross in 2:17.47 ahead of Gabi Grobler in 2:19.05 and Kirsty McLauchlan in 2:20.38.

In the multi-disability section, Alani Ferreira (S13) walked away with her fourth Paralympic Qualification time and third African Record, this time in the 100m butterfly, clocking 1:23.37. Ferreira once again broke Marike Naude’s 2011 time of 1:25.91.

Achmat Hassiem (S10) swam to a Paralympic Qualification time of 1:00.44 in the 100m butterfly heats session but just missed out on confirming that time when he finished the finals of the event with a golden 1:00.59 to the set 1:00.47. The silver medal went to Jared Burger in 1:09.20 and the bronze to Jean Pretorius in 1:12.80.

Aaron Putz claimed the gold in the S14 and S15 100m butterfly in 1:11.38 ahead of Sean O’Neil in 1:41.01, while on the ladies side, Cornell Loubser (S15) won her respective race in 1:07.40 with Christelle Kriel coming in second in 1:17.16.

The day 05 heats will start at 10h00 while the finals will begin at 18h30 daily.

The staging of this event has been made possible through the support provided by Swimming SA partners, Sport and Recreation South Africa, SASCOC, National Lotteries Commission, Arena, Rand Water and the SABC.

Olympic Qualifying Times following Day 04:

• Sebastien Rousseau – 400m individual medley – 4:14.75

• Michael Meyer – 400m individual medley – 4:15.71

• Myles Brown – 400m freestyle – 3:48.86

• Cameron van der Burgh – 100m breaststroke – 59.66

• Cameron van der Burgh – 200m breaststroke (SF) – 2:11.10

• Christopher Reid – 100m backstroke – 54.02

• Chad le Clos – 200m freestyle – 1:47.75

• Chad le Clos – 200m butterfly  – 1:55.04

Paralympic Qualifying Times following Day 04:

• Kevin Paul (SM10) – 200m individual medley – 2:15.78

• Kevin Paul (SB9) – 100m breaststroke – 1:05.10

• Johann van Heerden (SB9) – 100m breaststroke – 1:12.64

• Alani Ferreira (SM13) – 200m individual medley – 2:50.43

• Alani Ferreira (S13) – 400m freestyle – 5:21.00 (heats)

• Alani Ferreira (SB13) – 100m breaststroke – 1:26.90

• Alani Ferreira (S13) – 100m butterfly – 1:23.37

• Emily Gray (S9) – 400m freestyle – 5:05.36 (heats)

• Emily Gray (S10) – 100m backstroke – 1:17.17

• Craig Groenewald (SB14) – 100m breaststroke – 1:12.33

• Hendri Herbst (S11) – 100m backstroke – 1:16.84

• Shireen Sapiro (S10) – 100m backstroke – 1:11.87

• Achmat Hassiem (S10) – 100m butterfly – 1:00.44 (heats)

*SF – Semi-Final

For photos from the SA National Aquatic Championships, please visit - http://debikyimages.photoshelter.com/gallery/Day4-Finals/G000072t337VHsqY/C00002LLnKeYMk5A


For further information please contact:
Swimming South Africa Marketing Manager
Godfrey Monei
079 760 6124

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.
Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.