Every South African a Swimmer

The final day of the South African Swimming Grand Prix’s Port Elizabeth leg

The final day of the South African Swimming Grand Prix’s Port Elizabeth leg
Port Elizabeth, Sunday, 21st February 2016 - The Newton Park Swimming Pool saw off the final day of the SA Swimming Grand Prix’s Port Elizabeth leg in true Mzansi style today, Sunday, 21st February 2016.

Jarryd Baxter’s Olympic preparations won him an additional three gold medals in the 200m individual medley in 2:05.57, the 200m backstroke in 2:04.73 and the 200m freestyle in 1:53.33.

Brent Szurdoki claimed the silver in the freestyle and backstroke events in 1:53.60 and 2:05.76, while Dayne Odendaal finished with the second place in the medley race in 2:08.46. The bronze in the medley went to Neil Fair in 2:10.57, the backstroke to Liam Fourie in 2:06.54 and the freestyle to Kyle van Niekerk in 1:54.00.

Szurdoki also finished first in the 1500m freestyle in 15:32.91, while Van Niekerk managed a second place finish in the 50m freestyle in 23.92, ahead of Nico Meyer in 23.93 and behind Douglas Erasmus on 23.34.

Meyer was over the moon with his gold medal winning performance in the 100m butterfly in 54.78, with Alard Basson in second in 55.31 and Brendan Levy in third in 56.22.

Fourie won his second bronze in the 50m backstroke in 30.65, behind Ricky Ellis and Neil de Villiers in 26.35 and 26.41 respectively.

The trio of Tatjana Schoenmaker, Kaylene Corbett and Hanim Abrahams dominated the 50 and 200m breaststroke races when they claimed the first three positions, with Schoenmaker touching the wall ahead of Corbett and Abrahams in both events.

Pretoria’s Schoenmaker clocked 32.45 and 2:29.38 to Corbett’s 32.71 and 2:36.48 and Abrahams’ 34.01 and 2:39.65 respectively.

Adding two gold medals to her already impressive tally, Jessica Ashley-Cooper grabbed the 100m backstroke and 50m butterfly titles in 1:02.21 and 27.76 respectively.

Mariella Venter and Samantha Labuschagne won the silver and bronze in the 100m backstroke in 1:02.89 and 1:07.60, while Erin Gallagher and Emma Chelius finished second and third in the butterfly in 28.70 and 29.20 respectively.

Gallagher and Chelius also made their way to the medal podium in second and third place in the 100m freestyle in 57.59 and 59.13, with the gold going to Karin Prinsloo in 56.30.

Rising star Kate Beavon was victorious on two occasions in the 400m individual medley in 5:10.00 and the 400m freestyle in 4:25.27, while the silver in the medley event was claimed by Abrahams in 5:20.60 and Kristin Bellingham took home the second prize in the freestyle in 4:25.32. with Abi Meder in third in 4:33.74.

In the 100m breaststroke, Jarred Crous scooped the gold in 1:02.08, ahead of Mikey Houlie in 1:04.79 and Alaric Basson in 1:05.12.

The final leg of the SA Swimming Grand Prix will be held in Stellenbosch at the Stellenbosch University Swimming Pool from 26th to 28th February before Mzansi’s hopefuls head to Durban for the official Olympic Qualifiers at the SA National Championships in April.


For further information please contact:
Swimming South Africa Marketing Manager
Godfrey Monei
079 760 6124

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.
Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.