Every South African a Swimmer

The final day of the SA Swimming Grand Prix in Stellenbosch

The final day of the SA Swimming Grand Prix in Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch, Sunday, 24th February 2019 - The SA Swimming Grand Prix wrapped up today at the Stellenbosch University Swimming Pool, with the standout performances coming from Erin Gallagher, Kaylene Corbett and Ayrton Sweeney.

Erin Gallagher added two more gold medals to her tally, finishing ahead of the competition in the 100m freestyle with a time of 55.19 and the 50m butterfly in 26.67, while Aimee Canny and Britain’s Valentine Dumont won the silver and bronze in the freestyle in 56.97 and 57.03, respectively, with the silver in the butterfly going to Kerryn Herbst in 28.15 and the bronze to Inge Weidemann in 28.17.

Herbst went one better in the 100m backstroke, topping the medal podium in 1:05.78 to Olivia Nel’s 1:05.91 and Kiara Noades’s 1:06.18.

Next in the water was Kaylene Corbett, who was victorious in the 200m breaststroke in 2:25.98 and the 50m breaststroke in 32.27, while Britain’s Katie Matts and Hanim Abrahams won the silver and bronze in both events, clocking 2:32.08 and 2:38.02 and 32.62 and 33.44, respectively.

Ayrton Sweeney shared the title in the 200m freestyle with Britain’s Kyle Chrisholm, when they both touched the wall in 1:52.09 ahead of Matthew Bosch in 1:54.30, while in the 200m individual medley, Sweeney was over 4secs ahead of the pack and won the event in 2:03.79 followed by Luca Holtzhausen in 2:08.06 and Ruan Ras in 2:08.22.

In the 200m butterfly, Dune Coetzee came out on top with a time of 2:13.09 ahead of Britain’s Valentine Dumont in 2:17.19 and Carli Antonopoulos in 2:24.65, while later on in the day, Coetzee also managed a silver medal in the 400m freestyle in 4:22.82.

Rebecca Meder, Samantha Randle and Jessica Whelan made up the 400m individual medley medal podium in 4:50.24, 4:59.13 and 5:05.68, respectively, while the long distance 1500m freestyle medals went to Ruan Breytenbach in 15:59.22, Roberto Gomes in 16:18.05 and Dylan Wright in 16:24.62.

Jack Oliver scooped the silver medal in the 200m backstroke in 2:08.31 and the bronze in the 50m backstroke in 27.80, with the gold in the 200m race going to Martin Binedell in 2:02.85 and the bronze to Alessio Ferreri in 2:09.61, while the Damien Mullen won the 50m event in 27.65 to Hunju Duvenhage’s 27.74.

In the 100m breaststroke, Alaric Basson won in 1:01.82 ahead of Bailey Musgrave in 1:05.01 and Jared Pike in 1:05.79, the 100m butterfly title went to Britain’s Thomas Howdle in 55.02, followed by Daniel Ronaldson in 55.13 and Alard Basson in 55.32, while the final gold medal of the day in the 50m freestyle was claimed by Louw Oberholzer in 23.75.


For further information please contact:

Swimming South Africa

011 404 2480

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.

Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.