Every South African a Swimmer

The final day of the 2018 SA National Junior Age Group Championships in Durban

The final day of the 2018 SA National Junior Age Group Championships in Durban
Durban, Sunday, 25th March 2018 - The final day of the SA National Junior Age Group Championships in Durban demonstrated just how talented and skilled the next generation of swimming athletes is.

The 200m breaststroke saw Kian Keylock (12) win yet another gold medal in 2:42.60, while Ryan Zasas (13), Matthew Randle (14), Ruan Breytenbach (15), Michael Deans (16) and Zimbabwe’s Liam O’Hara (17) all topped their respective age group races, clocking 2:37.30, 2:24.19, 2:19.94, 2:24.08 and 2:21.58.

Breytenbach was more than happy to add the 100m butterfly gold to his tally in 58.14, while Keylock managed the silver in 1:05.92 and concluded the competition with a bronze in the 200m backstroke in 2:25.80.

In the ladies’ 200m breaststroke, Rebecca Meder (15) maintained her impeccable record with a gold medal in 2:33.07 with the remaining first positions going to Michaela dal Medico (12) in 2:48.03, Emma Kuhn (13) in 2:42.27, Paige Brombacher (14) in 2:34.60, Christin Mundell (16) in 2:29.60 and Tracy-Lee Young (17) in 2:39.17.

Matthew Sates (14) grabbed the gold in the 100m butterfly, touching the wall in 56.37 ahead of Ethan du Preez in 56.47 and Luca Holtzhausen in 58.29, while Henju Duvenhage won the 16 year old age group in 54.97 and Riccardo Di Domenico claimed the gold in the 17-18 category in 56.25.

Duvenhage also took home the gold in the 200m backstroke in 2:07.47, while Du Preez won the silver in 2:14.74.

There were plenty of fast times in the ladies’ 100m butterfly with Amy Muller (12), Emma Christianson (13), Trinity Hearne (14), Kerryn Herbst (15), Alice van der Merwe (16) and Jeanri Buys (17) all scooping the gold medals in 1:08.34, 1:04.50, 1:04.04, 1:04.99, 1:04.25 and 1:04.37, respectively.

Christianson finished the Championships with a gold medal in the 200m backstroke in 2:20.94, while Herbst won the silver in 2:20.97 ahead of Meder in 2:21.49.

The remaining gold medalists in the 200m backstroke were Amber Olsen (12) in 2:34.53, Hannah Pearse (14) in 2:20.80, Megan Tully (16) in 2:19.45 and Abi Meder (17) in 2:20.98.


For further information please contact:

Swimming South Africa

011 404 2480

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.

Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.