Every South African a Swimmer

The Durban leg of the SA Swimming Grand Prix concludes on a high note

The Durban leg of the SA Swimming Grand Prix concludes on a high note
Durban, Sunday, 7th February 2016 - Chad le Clos, Cameron van der Burgh and Tatjana Schoenmaker produced a thrilling final day to the Durban leg of the SA Swimming Grand Prix today, Sunday, 7th February 2016.

Le Clos’ golden time of 1:47.54 saw him claim the top spot in the 200m freestyle race, over two seconds ahead of his competitors. The silver medal went to Egypt’s Marwan Elcamash in 1:50.36, with the bronze going to Calvyn Justus in 1:50.58.

Later on in the day, Justus went two better in the 50m backstroke, winning the gold in 26.76 ahead of Neil de Villiers in 26.81 and Jacques van Wyk in 27.12.

Olympian Van der Burgh took the honors in the 100m breaststroke in 1:01.48, while Jarred Crous came second in 1:02.33 and Michael Houlie third in 1:03.98.

The trio of Schoenmaker, Kaylene Corbett and Hanim Abrahams dominated the 50 and 200m breaststroke races when they claimed the first three positions, with Schoenmaker touching the wall ahead of Corbett and Abrahams in both events.

Pretoria’s Schoenmaker clocked 32.16 and 2:28.98 to Corbett’s 32.64 and 2:36.18 and Abrahams’ 33.83 and 2:38.73 respectively.

Jessica Ashley-Cooper and Nathania van Niekerk were the silver and bronze duo in the 100m backstroke and 50m butterfly, clocking 1:02.47 and 27.35 and 1:03.93 and 28.65 respectively.

The gold in the 100m backstroke went to Mariella Venter in 1:02.13, while the 50m butterfly win was claimed by Vanessa Mohr in 27.01.

The gold in the 100m freestyle was claimed by Karin Prinsloo in 57.00, with Samantha Labuschagne finishing second in 59.43 and Gabi Grobler third in 59.60.

In the 400m freestyle, 15 year old Kate Beavon scooped yet another gold medal in 4:24.82 ahead of Charlise Oberholzer in 4:26.43 and Rebecca Meder in 4:27.87 and also added a silver medal to her tally in the 400m individual medley in 5:01.05, while Meder won the event in 5:00.85.

Rene Warnes walked away with the 200m butterfly title in 2:14.96, while Tarryn Els finished second in 2:19.85 and Kristin Bellingan third in 2:22.64.

In the 50m freestyle, Douglas Erasmus’ fast time of 22.83 secured him the gold medal ahead of Zane Waddell in 23.31 and Caydon Muller in 23.43.

In the 100m butterfly, Alard Basson claimed the top spot in 54.67, ahead of Brendan Levy in 56.87 and Robin Raven in 57.59, while Jarryd Baxter won the 200m individual medley in 2:06.10 to Dayne Odendaal’s 2:07.74 and Serbia’s Aleksa Bobar in 2:08.75.

In the long distance 1500m freestyle, Matthew Meyer won the gold in 15:23.08, while Brent Szurdoki finished second in 15:37.41 and Roberto Gomes third in 16:17.04.

Skurdoki also finished with the silver in the 200m backstroke in 2:05.23 ahead of Daniel Anderson in 2:11.32 and behind Ruan Rass in 2:05.19

The remaining legs of the SA Swimming Grand Prix will be held as follows:
• Port Elizabeth, Newton Park Swimming Pool – 19 – 20 February 2016
• Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch University Swimming Pool – 26 – 28 February 2016


For further information please contact:
Swimming South Africa Marketing Manager
Godfrey Monei
079 760 6124

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.
Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.