Every South African a Swimmer

The Commonwealth Games qualification times continue to pour in during the second last day of the KZNA Premier Championships

The Commonwealth Games qualification times continue to pour in during the second last day of the KZNA Premier Championships
Durban, Wednesday, 20th December 2017 - After five days of competition, South African’s top athletes have no plans of slowing down as the Commonwealth Games qualification times continue to pour in at the KZN Aquatics Premier Championships in Durban.

Twenty-eight swimmers have already made the Commonwealth Games qualification list and with one more day of action to go, that number is sure to grow.

It was a fight to the finish in the 200m backstroke final, as Martin Binedell claimed his first Commonwealth Games qualification time in 1:59.59, just 0.06secs ahead of Jarryd Baxter, who was more than happy with the silver and his Commonwealth Games qualification time of 1:59.65. Luan Grobbelaar won the bronze in 2:04.35.

In the highly competitive 50m freestyle, fast times were on the cards as the top four in the final swam under the 23.26 Commonwealth Games requirement. Brad Tandy was victorious in 22.33 ahead of Douglas Erasmus in 22.90, Ryan Coetzee in 23.18 and Armand Maritz in 23.25.

In the long distance 1500m freestyle, Brent Szurdoki won his second Commonwealth Games qualification time in 15:30.83, to the 15:44.74 requirement, while the silver went to Luke Erwee in 15:52.69 and the bronze to Chad Michau in 15:52.82.

Dune Coetzee (15) was quick off the block in the 200m butterfly, as she scooped the gold in a Commonwealth Games qualification time of 2:12.52 ahead of Jenna Pearse took the silver in 2:22.05 and Tori Oliver the bronze in 2:22.76,

Erin Gallagher added the 50m backstroke title to her name in 29.16, followed by Olivia Nel in 30.36 and Kiara Noades in 30.97.

There was no stopping Luca Holtzhausen (13), who broke yet another KZN Record, this time in the 200m backstroke in 2:14.87, shedding just under a second from his own 2:15.43 record from earlier in the year, and concluded the evening with a gold in the 50m freestyle in 25.33.

The winners of the remaining 200m backstroke were Enrico Vorbeck (11) in 2:43.50 and Ian Brijlal (14) in 2:14.57, while the gold in the 50m freestyle went to Ricky Lottering (11) in 30.45 and Chad Mayer (15) in 24.60.

In the 50m backstroke age group finals, the top spots were claimed by Kayci Petzer (11) in 36.76, Tatum Silen in 32.64 and Kirsten de Goede in 30.50.

The Commonwealth Games Trials will conclude tomorrow with the heats starting at 09h00 while the finals will begin at 17h00.

The final Commonwealth Games team will be selected and announced by SASCOC in accordance with the SASCOC Selection Policy.

Qualifying Times following Day 05 – Commonwealth Games:

·         Calvyn Justus – 100m backstroke (55.57)

·         Calvyn Justus – 100m freestyle (50.35)

·         Ayrton Sweeney – 200m breaststroke (2:11.64)

·         Ayrton Sweeney – 400m individual medley (4:16.53)

·         Erin Gallagher – 100m butterfly (58.93)

·         Erin Gallagher – 50m freestyle (25.35)

·         Erin Gallagher – 100m freestyle (54.93)

·         Brent Szurdoki – 400m freestyle (3:53.24)

·         Brent Szurdoki – 1500m freestyle (15.30.83)

·         Cameron van der Burgh – 100m breaststroke (59.89)

·         Michael Houlie – 100m breaststroke (1:01.98)]

·         Mariella Venter – 100m backstroke (1:02.55)

·         Chad le Clos – 200m freestyle (1:48.28)

·         Chad le Clos – 200m butterfly (1:58.01)

·         Chad le Clos – 100m freestyle (49.74)

·         Chad le Clos – 100m butterfly (52.43)

·         Jarryd Baxter – 200m freestyle (1:50.79)

·         Jarryd Baxter – 200m backstroke (1:59.65)

·         Emma Chelius – 50m freestyle (25.66)

·         Emma Chelius – 100m freestyle (56.53)

·         Olivia Nel – 50m freestyle (26.06)

·         Dune Coetzee – 200m freestyle (2:02.68)

·         Dune Coetzee – 200m butterfly (2:12.52)

·         Luan Grobbelaar – 400m individual medley (4:22.58)

·         Tatjana Schoenmaker – 200m breaststroke (2:26.46)

·         Tatjana Schoenmaker – 100m breaststroke (1:07.89

·         Kaylene Corbett – 200m breaststroke (2:29.18)

·         Kaylene Corbett – 100m breaststroke (1:09.57)

·         Emily Visagie – 200m breaststroke (2:29.46)

·         Eben Vorster – 200m butterfly (1:59.88)

·         Marlies Ross – 200m individual medley (2:17.33)

·         Leith Shankland – 100m freestyle (50.51)

·         Nathania van Niekerk – 200m backstroke (2:14.75)

·         Ryan Coetzee – 100m butterfly (52.92)

·         Ryan Coetzee – 50m freestyle (22.33)

·         Daniel Ronaldson – 100m butterfly (53.71)

·         Kate Beavon – 800m freestyle (8:49.16)

·         Kristin Bellingan – 800m freestyle (8:49.51)

·         Martin Binedell – 200m backstroke (1:59.59)

·         Douglas Erasmus – 50m freestyle (22.90)

·         Brad Tandy – 50m freestyle (22.33)

·         Armand Maritz – 50m freestyle (23.25)


For further information please contact:

Swimming South Africa

011 404 2480

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.

Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.