Every South African a Swimmer

The Commonwealth Games Qualification list continued to grow on the third day of the KZNA Premier Championships

The Commonwealth Games Qualification list continued to grow on the third day of the KZNA Premier Championships
Durban, Monday, 18th December 2017 - Mzansi’s swim stars continued to shine bright on the third day of the KZN Aquatics Premier Championships with another nine Commonwealth Games Qualifying times posted at the Kings Park Aquatics Centre tonight.

The ladies power trio of Tatjana Schoenmaker, Kaylene Corbett and Emily Visagie showcased SA’s vast talent by adding their names to the Commonwealth Games qualification list in the 200m breaststroke final, clocking 2:26.46, 2:29.18 and 2:29.46, respectively.

Marlies Ross cruised past Hanim Abrahams and Visagie to end the 200m individual medley with a Commonwealth Games Qualification time of 2:17.33, while Abrahams finished with the silver in 2:19.41 and Visagie with the bronze in 2:19.43.

Olympian Chad le Clos raced to his second and third Commonwealth Games qualification times in the 200m butterfly and 100m freestyle, scooping the gold in a fast 1:58.01 and 49.74, with Eben Vorster close behind in a Commonwealth Games qualification time of 1:59.88 in the 200m butterfly, while Calvyn Justus and Leith Shankland dipped under the required 50.64 to qualify in the 100m freestyle in 50.35 and 50.51, respectively.

In the 50m backstroke, Jacques van Wyk came out victorious in 26.24 ahead of Henju Duvenhage in 26.91 and Jack Oliver in 26.96, while the glory in the 50m butterfly went to Erin Gallagher in a new KZN record of 26.68 to Emma Chelius’ 27.77 and Inge Weidemann’s 28.45.

13 year old Luca Holtzhausen continued to dominate the age group events, adding the 50m backstroke and 100m freestyle to his tally, both in new KZN Record times of 28.82 and 54.16, breaking his own records from earlier in the year.

Joshua Paton (11) and Jacob Armon (14) finished first in the other 50m backstroke races in 35.32 and 29.38, while the gold medals in the 100m freestyles went to Ricky Lottering (11) in 1:07.08 and Chad Mayer (15) in 54.11.

In the ladies 200m breaststroke age group events, 15 year old Tailyn Seyffert won her category in a new KZN Record time of 2:34.99, breaking the 30 year record time of 2:36.88 which was held by L. Peacock, the remaining gold medalists were Rebecca Leach (11) in 3:04.96 and Morgan Ridderhof (13) in 2:52.17.

Seyffert also bagged the 200m individual medley gold in 2:21.95, while Leach (11) and Emma Kuhn (12)  took home the gold in the other age group category events in 2:53.73 and 2:30.96, respectively.

Kirsten de Goede (14) topped the medal podium in the 50m butterfly in a new KZN Record time of 27.95, beating Erin Gallagher’s 2014 time of 28.11, while Chloe Graaff (11) and Catherine Eland (12) won their respective category races in 33.99 and 30.41.

The KZN Aquatics Premier Championships and Commonwealth Games Trials will continue tomorrow with the heats starting at 09h00 while the finals will begin at 17h00 daily.

Qualifying Times following Day 03 – Commonwealth Games:

·         Calvyn Justus – 100m backstroke (55.57)

·         Calvyn Justus – 100m freestyle (50.35)

·         Ayrton Sweeney – 200m breaststroke (2:11.64)

·         Erin Gallagher – 100m butterfly (58.93)

·         Erin Gallagher – 50m freestyle (25.35)

·         Brent Szurdoki – 400m freestyle (3:53.24)

·         Cameron van der Burgh – 100m breaststroke (59.89)

·         Michael Houlie – 100m breaststroke (1:01.98)]

·         Mariella Venter – 100m backstroke (1:02.55)

·         Chad le Clos – 200m freestyle (1:48.28)

·         Chad le Clos – 200m butterfly (1:58.01)

·         Chad le Clos – 100m freestyle (49.74)

·         Jarryd Baxter – 200m freestyle (1:50.79)

·         Emma Chelius – 50m freestyle (25.66)

·         Olivia Nel – 50m freestyle (26.06)

·         Dune Coetzee – 200m freestyle (2:02.68)

·         Ayrton Sweeney – 400m individual medley (4:16.53)

·         Luan Grobbelaar – 400m individual medley (4:22.58)

·         Tatjana Schoenmaker – 200m breaststroke (2:26.46)

·         Kaylene Corbett – 200m breaststroke (2:29.18)

·         Emily Visagie – 200m breaststroke (2:29.46)

·         Eben Vorster – 200m butterfly (1:59.88)

·         Marlies Ross – 200m individual medley (2:17.33)

·         Leith Shankland – 100m freestyle (50.51)


For further information please contact:

Swimming South Africa

011 404 2480

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.

Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.