Every South African a Swimmer

Team announcement for the CANA Zone IV Junior Championships

Team announcement for the CANA Zone IV Junior Championships
Johannesburg, Wednesday, 6th February 2019 - A strong contingent of athletes will be representing South Africa at the Confederation Africaine De Natation Amateur (CANA) Zone IV Junior Championships in Windhoek, Namibia from 16th to 20th February 2019.

The competition will feature some of Mzansi’s best young talent in the Water Polo, Open Water and Swimming sections.

The SA swimming team finished second behind Zambia at last year’s edition in Malawi where they returned with a total of 55 medals - 22 gold, 20 silver and 13 bronze.

The Open Water races will be held over the 3 and 5km distances, featuring some of the country’s medallists from the inaugural 2017 CANA Zone IV Junior Open Water Swimming Championships.

Swimming SA CEO, Shaun Adriaanse stressed the importance of the country’s young athletes gaining valuable experience at the regional competition.

“The CANA Zone IV Junior Swimming Championships does not only allow our rising stars to test themselves against top competition but it also fosters a sense of solidarity with our regional neighbours,” Adriaanse said.

The South African squad:

Swimming team:


13/14 years:

Candice Clifton-Smith, Ruby Dixon, Kelly Ann Brown, Lise Coetzee.

15/16 years: 

Kelsea Munro, Lwethu Mbatha, Megan Shepherd, Ashton Volkwyn, Omolemo Makombe.


13/14 years: 

Awande Nkuzi, Kian Keylock, Leshen Pillay, Ozzy Aromin.

15/16 years: 

Ian Brijlal, Felix Maseko, Jivall Bodlall, Jakobus Terblanche, Cameron Casali.

17 and over: 

Hlalele Chaane, Clayton Malaza.

Open Water swimming team: 

12 - 13 years – 3km:

Morne Campbell, Tiara Finis, Jay Connor, Matthew Tucker.

14 - 15 years – 3km:

Teegan Pio, Robyn Hough, Patrick Hepke, Connor Albertyn, Christian Apples.

14–15years -5km & 3km:

Catherine van Rensburg, Leigh McMorran, Alex Wehmeyer, Dennis de Villiers.

16-18 years 5km & 3km:

Trinity Hearne, Tasneem Ibrahim, Muhammed Adam, Hanre Louw, Flippie van der Spuy, Refiloe Mashao.

Target squad 3km:

David Leukes, Leshen Pillay, Xavier Beukes, Muhammed Adam.

Water Polo teams:

U-15 Boys team:

Andrew Botha, Andrew Good, Casper Mlaba, Christo van Loggerenberg, Duran Hall, Jaytee Abrahams, Joshua Medcalf, Lonwabo Mfikili (GK), Luka Rajak, Nicholas Steinhagen, Ross van Breda, Tigran Sennett, Zachary Porthen.

U-16 Boys team:

Alexander Thomas (GK), Braden Delomoney, Brandon Delport, Chad Uys, Declan Hutton (GK), Jack Awylward, Jordan Harrod, Keagon Mnyaka, Kyle Cohead, Liam Gordon, Manqoba Bungane, Mudathir Solomon, Sebastian Riley-Neilson.

U-15 Girls team:

Caitlin Stott, Esihle Zondo, Hayley Hansen, Iman Akomolafe, Jenna van den Bosch, Jo Williams, Josie Apps, Julienne Barnard (GK), Keirah van der Loosdrecht, Lauren Williams, Olufunke Gando (GK), Rebecca Currie, Sophie Hanssen.

U-16 Girls team:

Abigail Milella, Almaas Bailey, Bianca Kennerley, Georgina Bester, Gia Allasio, Jordan Laguma (GK), Kerry-Anne Lentz, Kristin Hatley, Leah Goodman, Mia Baxter-Eliot, Oluchi McMurray (GK), Paige Black, Tara Hastings, Zahraa Bodiat.


For further information please contact:

Swimming South Africa

011 404 2480

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.

Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.