Every South African a Swimmer

Swimming wins at African Union Sport Council Region 5 (AUSC Reg5) Awards

Swimming wins at African Union Sport Council Region 5 (AUSC Reg5) Awards
Johannesburg, Wednesday, 29th June 2016 - The African Union Sports Council Region 5 (Southern Africa) held their inaugural Regional Awards in South Africa over the weekend and swimming was the big winner of the night, walking away with four key awards.

Swimming South Africa’s National Head Coach, Graham Hill, received the Coach of the Year honour at the ceremony, which is aimed at recognizing athletes, coaches and sports confederations from Southern Africa.

Botswana’s 19 year old Olympic hopeful, Naomi Ruele won the Junior Sportswoman of the Year for her outstanding performances in major global events, as well as her time and technique improvement.

Ruele, who is on a FINA Scholarship in Miami, was also awarded the Swimmer of the Year from the Florida International University after breaking the 50m freestyle record at the NCAA Swimming Championships in the USA in March this year.

Veteran Olympian Kirsty Coventry (Zimbabwe) took home the Sportswoman of the Year, while Southern African Swimming Confederation (CANA Zone IV) claimed the Sports Confederation of the Year award.

Southern Africa swimming has seen phenomenal growth over the past few years, with 6 countries achieving qualifying times for Rio 2016, compared to the 2 from London 2012.


For further information please contact:
Swimming South Africa
011 404 2480

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.
Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.