Every South African a Swimmer

Final Day of the FINA World Junior Swimming Championships in Budapest

Final Day of the FINA World Junior Swimming Championships in Budapest
Budapest, Sunday, 25th August 2019 - The 7th FINA World Junior Swimming Championships ended with two South African swimmers flying the flag in the finals at the Danube Arena, in Budapest, Hungary on Sunday.

Sprint swimmer Canny came painstakingly close to stepping onto the podium finishing fourth in the women’s 50m freestyle on the final day of the gala.

Competing against some of the best 18yr olds and under swimmers in the world, the South Africans missed out on any medals.

American Gretchen Walsh won the race in a blistering 24.71 seconds with countrywoman Maxine Parker finishing second in 24.75. Australian Meg Harris rounded off the podium clocking 24.89. Canny touched in a distant fourth place with a time of 25.29. She was one of the top South African swimmers at the championships after she also finished fifth in the 100m freestyle final clocking 54.93.

Later in the evening, Ethan du Preez featured in the men’s 200m butterfly final where he had to be content with an eighth-place finish hitting the wall in a time of 1:58.83. Urlando Luca of the United States stole the show winning the race in a time of 1:55.02.

Earlier in the week, Lara van Niekerk finished in fourth place in the women’s 50m breaststroke, while Dune Coetzee finished eighth in the 200m butterfly final.


For further information please contact:

Swimming South Africa

011 404 2480

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.

Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.