Every South African a Swimmer

Day 01 of the SA Swimming Grand Prix in Stellenbosch

Day 01 of the SA Swimming Grand Prix in Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch, Saturday, 23rd February 2019 - A phenomenal start for Mzansi’s top aquatic talent as the final leg of the SA Swimming Grand Prix got underway at the Stellenbosch University Swimming Pool today.

This year’s competition also plays host to a number of International stars from Denmark, Britain and Egypt.

Erin Gallagher was in top form, winning the gold in the 100m butterfly in a fast 59.53 and the 50m freestyle in 25.40, the silver and bronze in the butterfly event went to Denmark’s Emilie Beckmann and Amalie Mikkelsen in 1:00.27 and in 1:00.53, respectively, while Denmark’s Signe Bro claimed the silver in the freestyle in 25.76 and the bronze was shared by Olivia Nel and Denmark’s Emily Gantriis who finished together in 26.26.

Golden boy Ayrton Sweeney delivered two outstanding performances in the 400m individual medley and the 200m breaststroke, wining the top spots in 4:24.03 and 2:15.34.

Ruan Breytenbach and Damian Mullen completed the medley medal podium in 4:29.75 and 4:32.98, while Alaric Basson scooped the silver in the breaststroke in 2:17.57 and the bronze went to Bailey Musgrave in 2:20.98.

Basson also managed another silver in the 50m breaststroke in 28.41 ahead of Jared Pike in 29.58 and behind Denmark’s Tobias Bjerg in 27.94.

Backstroke specialist Nathania van Niekerk won the title in the 200m race, clocking 2:16.15, followed by Samantha Randle in 2:18.06 and Hannah Pearse in 2:20.56, while in the 50m event, Van Niekerk had to settle for the silver in 30.13 to Nel’s 29.71 and Michaela de Villiers’ 30.56.

Tatjana Schoenmaker and Rebecca Meder were a forced to be reckoned with in the 100m breaststroke and 200m individual medley, both winning their respective race in 1:07.11 and 2:17.07, while Kaylene Corbett bagged the silver in the breaststroke in 1:08.98 and the bronze in the medley event in 2:22.15.

The gold medal in the 800m freestyle went to Abi Meder in 9:00.71 ahead of Kristin Bellingan in 9:00.98 and Kate Beavon in 9:09.79, while the first place in the 200m freestyle was claimed by Britain’s Holly Hibbott in 1:59.5, followed by Denmark’s Bro in 2:01.39 and Dune Coetzee in 2:01.65.

The Denmark duo of Mathias Rysgaard and Daniel Skaaning finished first and second in the 100m freestyle in 50.25 and 51.01, respectively, with the bronze going to Matthew Bosch in 51.53, while in the 400m freestyle it was Britain’s Kyle Chrisholm that won the gold in 4:01.39 ahead of Roberto Gomes in 4:04.79 and Righardt Muller in 4:05.63.

Britain’s Thomas Howdle was fast off the block in the 100m backstroke, touching the wall in 56.37, followed by Martin Binedell in 58.06 and Denmark’s Daniel Skaaning in 58.44, while in the 200m butterfly, it was Denmark’s Viktor Bromer that took the gold in 1:58.97, ahead of Ethan du Preez in 2:02.40 and Tiago Cordeiro in 2:03.08.

In the 50m butterfly, Alard Basson walked away with the gold in 25.00, to Henju Duvenhage silver time of 25.48 and Max Kieser bronze time of 25.69.

The SA Swimming Grand Prix Series concludes tomorrow, with the finals session starting at 10h00.


For further information please contact:

Swimming South Africa

011 404 2480

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.

Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.