Every South African a Swimmer

Selection Committees

Swimming South Africa is constitutionally required to have a Selection Committee for each of the five disciplines (i.e. Swimming, Water Polo, Diving, Synchronised Swimming and Open Water Swimming). Each committee is made up of three members. The convenor is elected by council for a two year period, a second member is elected by council for a one year period, and the third member is appointed by the Executive of SSA.

These committees are expected to make recommendations to the Executive of SSA regarding selection of teams. This is to be done in a consultative, fair, transparent and equitable manner, and is to be aligned to the strategy of the organisation.

Selection Committees 2022-2024


Marco van der Sluys (Convenor)


Tristan Crawford


Debbie Cummins



Open Water

Garth Tune (Convenor)


Debbie Randle


Cheryl Kotze




Debbie Mcloed (Convenor)


Corneen Kleynhans


Anwar Rinquest


Artistic Swimming

Jennifer Naidoo (Convenor)


Lucille Pequeno


Wendy Buitendag



Water Polo

Reinhardt van Schoor (Convenor)


Aneesa Adam


Donn Stewart