Every South African a Swimmer

You are here: Home News The 2018 SA National Junior Age Group Championships get underway in Durban

The 2018 SA National Junior Age Group Championships get underway in Durban

Durban, Wednesday, 21st March 2018 - The Kings Park Aquatics Centre in Durban is hosting some of SA’s top rising talent, as the South African National Junior Age Group Championships got underway today with the 400m freestyle events.
The 2018 SA National Junior Age Group Championships get underway in Durban

SA National Junior Age Group Championships 2018

In the U12 category, Liam Coetzee (12) claimed the first gold medal in 4:37.08 ahead of Namibia’s Jose Canjulo in 4:39.03 and Pretoria’s Elijah Dredge in 4:42.75, while on the ladies’ side it was Dieu Dene van Jaarsveld (12) who won the top spot in 4:47.21, followed by Mischa King in 4:47.79 and Lisbe Booyse in 4:50.26.

Leshen Pillay, Ryan Zasas and Joshua Hinckley made up the 13 age group medal podium in 4:25.27, 4:27.15 and 4:31.39, while Hannah Robertson, Chloe le Roux and Lise Coetzee bagged the gold, silver and bronze medals in the ladies’ category in 4:28.45, 4:31.20 and 4:35.64, respectively.

In the 14 year-old age group category, Ethan du Preez clocked 4:07.77 to win the gold ahead of Zander Landman in 4:10.78 and Luca Holtzhausen in 4:11.14, with Sune Liebenberg winning the ladies’ age group event in 4:29.13, followed by Kirsten de Goede 4:30.98 and Trinity Hearne in 4:34.73.

Ruan Breytenbach claimed the 15 year-old age group title with a time of 4:01.78, over 7secs ahead of Dylan Wright 4:08.11 and Righardt Muller in 4:08.20, with Dune Coetzee, Rebecca Meder and Tori Oliver making up the ladies medal podium in 4:16.38, 4:19.15 and 4:30.69, respectively.

The title in the 16 year-old event was claimed by James Freeman in 3:58.26 ahead of Luan Grobbelaar in 4:05.66 and Andrew Ross in 4:05.75, while Christin Mundell won the ladies’ side in 4:21.83, followed by Janie Coetzee (4:22.94) and Jordan-Jenna Rolfe (4:27.19).

In the last category events of the evening finals, the 17-18 age group, Jarryd Baxter (18) bagged the gold in 3:56.42, while the silver went to Calvin Coetzee (17) in 4:02.06 and the bronze to Luke Erwee (17) in 4:02.13, with Abi Meder (17) taking home the gold for the ladies in 4:22.33, followed by Michee van Rooyen (17) in 4:26.57 and Charlise Oberholzer (18) in 4:27.18.

The SA National Junior Age Group Championships will continue tomorrow with the heats starting at 08h30 and the finals beginning at 17h00, daily.


For further information please contact:

Swimming South Africa

011 404 2480

Swimming South Africa is the governing body of aquatics in South Africa.

Its objective is to encourage the practice of aquatic disciplines for all in South Africa with the purpose of promoting swimming as a life skill through Learn To Swim programmes; providing healthy exercise to South Africans of all ages and races; recruiting recreational swimmers to compete in the various competitions; and promoting competition and athlete development to the highest level. Swimming South Africa is kindly supported by SASCOC, National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Arena, Sport & Recreation SA and Rand Water.


Eleven swimmers posted qualifying times for the FINA World Short-Course Championships in China in December

Aug 13, 2018

Olympic gold medalist Cameron van der Burgh qualified for his fifth World Swimming Short-Course Championships on Saturday evening

Aug 12, 2018

Commonwealth Games bronze medalist Ryan Coetzee was among three athletes to add their names to the World Swimming Short-Course Championships team

Aug 11, 2018

Chad le Clos highlighted the first day of the SA National Swimming Championships (25m)

Aug 10, 2018